Recipes from Wednesday cook night- Sausage and chicken jambalaya

by Nicole Lee

Mmkay, for those of you that don’t know I love to cook. Love it. So every Wednesday night I have a standing date with my boyfriend to cook at home. Usually he gives me somewhere to start. Something like, “Hmm, how about something light…but pasta?” And it up to me to satisfy whatever craving or starting point he gives me. This week was “jambalaya” (which I have never made, just for the record). I researched recipes, mished and mashed a bunch of them together, and ultimately I think it turned out pretty well. Next time I’ll leave out of the chicken, I think (per his request), and stick strictly with the sausage, but other than that, I’m pretty pleased.

So, for your dining pleasure I figured I’d jot down the recipe so you could try it too, if you feel so inclined. Be sure to  let me know if you do and what you think of it!

Ingredients:

+ one 16 oz bag white rice
+ one green pepper
+ one white onion
+ two stalks celery
+ garlic to taste
+ salt and pepper to taste
+ two tbsp cajun seasoning
+ two tbsp cayenne pepper
+ one box (approximately 32 oz) chicken stock
+ three bay leaves
+ two boneless skinless chicken breasts
+ three sausages (I like andouille, but this was just hot sausage)

+garnish with Worcestershire and pepper sauce

Method (see pictures below):

– Brown meat then add diced bell pepper, onions, celery, garlic, cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper. Saute until onions are translucent.

– Add chicken stock, rice and bay leaves.

– Bring to a boil then reduce heat to simmer, cover and let cook for approximately 20 minutes.

THE END! Now, sit down, enjoy your food, and get lost in the goodness of food.

(I didn’t get a picture of the finished product. I’d lost all of my light, but that’s okay. It tasted great!)

3 Comments to “Recipes from Wednesday cook night- Sausage and chicken jambalaya”

  1. Looks Delish!

  2. Excellent blog and nice content. I look forward to following your photos so keep em coming :).

Leave a Reply

