Recipes from Wednesday Cook Night – Stuffed Bell Peppers with Orzo

by Nicole Lee

Per Scott’s request last night’s Wednesday Cook Night was filled with stuffed peppers. I’m kind of a silly girl and decided to make orange (my favorite color) and green (his favorite). I also made heart shapes out of the Sriracha on top. I know, I know. It’s dorky, but sometimes you just cannot help who are are. :)

I did have a few issues with this recipe, including how watery it ended up being. I think my problem was overcooking the orzo, so next time I’ll need to adjust accordingly. Either way, here is the recipe (slightly adjusted to help you with the wateriness). I hope you enjoy!

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. lean ground beef (I use 93/7)
  • 4 bell peppers (color of your choosing)
  • 1/4 c. orzo
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 white onion
  • reduced fat cheese
  • 2 tbsp. fresh dill, chopped
  • garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • olive oil
Method:
  1. Half bell peppers and place in a oiled glass pan.
  2. Sautee onions, salt, pepper and garlic until translucent.
  3. Lightly cook orzo (just before al dente, you want it to still absorb liquid while cooking)
  4. Separate half the onions and set aside.
  5. With the remaining cooking onions brown meat. Add dill just before it’s finished.
  6. Roughly chop tomatoes and add to onions
  7. Put a shallow layer of tomato/onion mixture in bottom of peppers.
  8. Add meat mixture on top.
  9. Top with cheese (and hot sauce if so desired!)
  10. Cover with oiled tin foil (oil side down).
  11. Place in 450 degree over for approximately 35-40 minutes, or until peppers are soft.
  12. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

