Turning Vegetarian – Lemony Garbanzo Bean Sandwiches

by Nicole Lee

Night two of cooking at home out of the Vegetarian cook book I picked up Sunday. This recipe was insanely simple, incredibly inexpensive and yummy, yummy, yummy! I think I’m going to start adding the cost per serving to my list of “just so you know”s about each recipe.

Now this one I liked for dinner, but I think I prefer for lunch. I’ll be bringing the left overs to my office tomorrow and I have no doubt I’ll eat the heck out of it- I might even share if my coworkers are lucky!

Notes: I got stuck looking all over for focaccia, but I could not, for the life of me, find it. I got French bread and it was entirely wrong. I definitely suggest looking around more thoroughly than I was able to get it.

Lemony Garbanzo Bean Sandwich

Serves: 4
Start to finish: 20 minutes
Cost per serving: ≈ $2.50

Nutritional values (will vary depending on brands)- Per serving: 401 calories, 8g fat (0g saturated fat), 10mg cholesterol, 472mg sodium, 71g carbohydrates, 5g fiber, 16g protein

Ingredients:

 1 15oz can garbanzo beans (drained and rinsed)
3 tbsp. fresh parsley
1 tsp. finely shredded lemon peel
 2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
 1 tbsp. finely chopped red onion
 1 tbsp. olive oil
 1/8 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
 1/2 a large cucumber peeled, quartered and sliced
 1/2 c. arugula
 1/3 c. roasted red sweet pepper strips
 1 12″ loaf focaccia quartered

Method:

1. Combine garbanzo beans, parsley, lemon peel, lemon juice, red onion, olive oil, and black pepper. Gently mash beans with a fork or potato masher (leave it coarse, you want some texture). Stir in cucumber, arugula and roasted pepper.*
2. Cut bread in half and fill each portion of bread with a quarter of the bean mixture. Enjoy!**

* Honestly, as long as you’re not too harsh you can add everything other than arugula right from the start.
** I did not toast my bread, but I think next time I will. Having the crunch sounds like a really good idea!

2 Comments to “Turning Vegetarian – Lemony Garbanzo Bean Sandwiches”

  1. I love the look of this, and the fact that it includes lemon is even better. I absolutely adore anything with lemon. I love that you include the cost per serving. Such a great idea in todays economy.

    • Oh man! The mix alone was fabulous– to the point where I would say it almost makes a better “salad” than sandwich. The citrus of the lemon is so fresh and the arugula just makes it even better.

      And thanks on the comment about pricing it out! I wasn’t sure anyone else would appreciate it, but I know for me it’s been great being able to keep track of what I’m spending on food. Not just at the store, but also to budget going forward. :)

Leave a Reply

